This One Thing – Inviting Him into my Day

Happy Thursday!

I am super tired as the week is coming to a close. For whatever reason, I didn’t sleep too well last night (perhaps my late afternoon iced chai latte was to blame? Totally worth it though!) Needless to say, I am counting on a restful weekend!

I’ve also been meaning to write more, but life has gotten in the way. And that’s okay. I made a decision when I started this blog that it was always to be in second place compared to my other responsibilities. So when Little B takes a shorter nap or when the house needs to be cleaned, I’ve been trying to choose to faithfully fulfill those roles first. Not that I’m perfect in that arena at all… I’m still trying to grow and improve!

Establishing a daily quiet time with God

One thing that I’ve been working on is carving out space for a daily quiet time. I have made it my goal to do this every day for years now. However, I am finding that in certain seasons of life, it is harder or easier than others. Right now it is hard! I feel that I have so many things vying for my attention when really only one thing matters…

One thing I have desired of the Lord, that will I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to inquire in His temple. (Psalm 27:4)

I want to have this “one thing” mentality of the Lord. I want to sit in His Presence daily and forget about everything else. Isn’t this the best way to approach the busyness of life? Yet all too often, I am wrongly convinced otherwise – that I must do tasks and say things and go places – so that I can accomplish the things that I need to do.

But what if my life isn’t about those things?

What if your life isn’t either?

What if the final results of our to-do lists aren’t the important parts? What if it’s about the process? About our attitudes? About the way we do things? About the way we talk to people? About the way that we wait in lines? About the way we drive? About the way we parent? About the way we interact with coworkers? About the way we invite the Lord into our daily lives? What if these are the things the Lord evaluates when He says, “Well done, good and faithful servant…”?

What if it’s not as much about the end result but more about the way we got there?

I really think that the Lord sees all these components of our lives and is either glorified or saddened by our responses to our circumstances. This is why my quiet times with Him must be nonnegotiable. I can’t do it without Him! It is only through the power of the Holy Spirit that any of this – any goodness – can come out of me.

If I am not inviting Him to daily be a part of my life, how can I live excellently?

I want to challenge myself and each of you – make the time. Invite Him into your day. I promise it will make a difference. He will continue to transform your life, and in the process, your desire for Him will move His heart. And that is a beautiful thing.

Signature

Bible journal coffee and biscotti

(I’ve written a few other posts about having a daily quiet time on this blog that you may find encouraging if, like me, you find this to be a challenging discipline! You can check them out here: “New Mercy,” “Refreshing and Refilling” and “A Loyal Heart.”)

Cold Brew Coffee Recipe Card

Sign up Form

Want to join the Heart Home and Hope tribe?

(You know you do!) You’ll get complete access to my Free Resource Library, a monthly newsletter – “Heart Home and Hope Happenings,” and other exciting insider content! Just sign up here and then check your inbox for your password!

Thanks for joining me!

 

8 thoughts on “This One Thing – Inviting Him into my Day

  1. Ever since I started following your blog I’ve made it a point to either have quiet time with just Him, read my daily devotionals, or both. Sometimes my quiet time is in the car in the pick up line while my youngest sleeps. Other times its first thing in the morning setting my intention for the day. Either way quiet time with Him is better than no time with Him! ❤ thanks for this reminder

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As you know, we don’t have the same religious beliefs. But once again, I find myself agreeing with the sentiment of this post. I totally think that the process is more important than the end result, which was NOT always the case. But yes, the way we react and behave and treat people-and ourselves-is so important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

