New Mercy – Running After Him To Be Filled Afresh

Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul. “Therefore I hope in Him!” The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him. (Lamentations 3:22-25)

God is not a man, that He should lie, nor a son of man, that He should repent. Has He said, and will He not do? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good? (Numbers 23:19)

new mercy

It seems like this entire week has been a whirlwind – full of good things, but also very distracting. I haven’t been taking the time to spend with the Lord every morning and it has been eating away at me.

Can a person survive without water for long?

He is my Living Water. I need Him. My soul craves Him.

But sometimes my emotions and thoughts overpower that deep need and distract me from the very One who gives me life and peace.

The Lord welcomes us with open arms - regardless of our yesterdays. He beckons us to run to Him for fresh mercy.

This is how I started my day today, needing Him, but guilt and shame over my lack of discipline seemed to hold me back. I felt like a child ashamed to face her Father – wanting instead to hide from Him.

Can anyone else relate?

But as I was scrolling through my Instagram feed, two other Godly mama’s stopped me in my tracks with their words:

  1. Ashley Pierce said: “…New mercies, you guys. New mercies.”
  2. Gretchen Saffles said: “The most unforgettable meal you will ever partake of is the Word of God. Jesus described Himself as the Living Water and the Bread of Life, knowing that only He can satisfy our hungry and thirsty souls!…You will never leave hungry after spending time in Scripture with Jesus. You will never be disappointed by His Word!”

I felt like God was speaking right to my heart, “Forget about the yesterdays. I have given new mercies for today. Take them; spend them on Me. Pour out your time and your distractions before Me, and let my mercies flood over you. I will satisfy. It is my job to fill you; so come to Me and let Me do this thing in you.”

What a relief!

All I have to do is come to Him in humility. The rest is up to Him.

He sees every part of me, and knowing all that He does, He still withholds nothing but freely gives of Himself.

There are no hidden agendas with God. In the book of Numbers, He reminded me that He is not a man. He does not behave as a man. What He has said, He will do.

I can rest in Him and find peace in Him. He alone is my hope and my salvation. I can come to my Father now without any shame.

He holds wide His arms and welcomes me in. He wants me – all of me, just as I am, faults and all. And He wants you just the same!

So dear friend, don’t hold back from Him. His mercies are new today, and He longs to be near to you. Don’t hide from your loving Father!

Fall into His arms, and let Him remove the dirt, wipe the tears, and mend the scars. He alone can do it. He tells us to come as we are to Him.

I am praying for each of you and for myself – that we would choose to run to Him rather than from Him and, in doing so, allow Him to complete the work that He has started in us.

Grace and peace!

– Alex ✌️

(I’ve written a few other posts about having a daily quiet time on this blog that you may find encouraging if, like me, you find this to be a challenging discipline! You can check them out here: “This One Thing,” “Refreshing and Refilling,” and “A Loyal Heart.”)

The Lord welcomes us with open arms - regardless of our yesterdays. He beckons us to run to Him for fresh mercy.

This blog is dedicated to things I love, motherhood and family life, and Jesus. Welcome to Heart, Home and Hope!

 

19 thoughts on “New Mercy – Running After Him To Be Filled Afresh

  1. I love that your faith is able to provide you with this homing. It is a wonderful thing to feel that you are beloved and that you have a place within the universe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. girl. i’ve also been putting Him on the back burner… especially with weekends, I can’t find the time to go to church. My mom always said “He gave you life, at least give Him an hour”.. so I’ve started my mornings with daily devotionals… it’s really made a difference, and even though I’m not going to church I’m still connecting with Him!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is so easy to happen! Life is so busy! I’ve been struggling too. I’m so thankful that He doesn’t love us based upon our performance! I’m praying that you (and I) can find the time and ability to continue to prioritize things as we should! You’re right – it makes a huge difference! ❤

      Like

  3. This is beautiful! I absolutely love this,
    “Forget about the yesterdays. I have given new mercies for today. Take them; spend them on Me. Pour out your time and your distractions before Me, and let my mercies flood over you. I will satisfy. It is my job to fill you; so come to Me and let Me do this thing in you.”
    Don’t worry so much, he understands, he sees, he knows. Life may get in the way, but he knows your faithful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

