His promises

Hello Lovelies!

It has taken me some time to collect my thoughts for this post. I feel like it is a subject that the Lord has taken me by the hand to lead me through. It is a journey and I feel that we are not finished yet. Still, I want to share my thoughts and share what He has been showing me. I pray that He cements truth into our souls – that we may learn to trust Him and His plans.

His promises

This week I have felt so defeated. It seems that I am constantly reminded of the depravity of humanity. I watch the news and hear of horrific things time and time again. Then, just when I think I have heard the worst, something else will shock me. Our world is truly hopeless.

Last week, hubby and I were driving past a local neighborhood just as ambulances were arriving on a street that was already filled with at least a dozen police cars. I don’t know what happened, but I can only imagine that it was the beginning of a nightmare for those involved.

So my heart grieves. I mourn. And if I am perfectly honest, I have even been afraid. Afraid for myself but even more afraid for my family. I fear for my children growing up in this world. I fear because I cannot protect them. I cannot shelter them from this world that Satan prowls about (1 Peter 5:8).

All I can do is pray…asking God for protection, to remove the fears…but still the worry returns. Do I trust Him? Can He be trusted? Why does He let bad things happen to those who seek Him and put their faith in Him? Is He really good? Over and over, my mind wonders these things without ever expecting an answer…

But even so, my faithful Father – my ever-loving, most patient Friend – He answers my questioning heart. On a summer evening last week, He spoke through my wrestling and my worry, my fears and my doubts. In that moment, He painted the heavens with a beautiful rainbow; and He whispered to my anxious soul:

“I always remember My promises.”

In that still moment, in the peace that flooded my heart, my eyes filled with tears as I remembered the countless promises throughout all of Scripture and how my God has never broken one. HE HAS NEVER BROKEN ONE PROMISE. His faithfulness is not contingent upon mine (2 Timothy 2:13). And not only that, but He is also not frustrated by my lack of faith or my questioning. He instead speaks into my confusion and reminds me of who He is. And isn’t that where my focus should be? On Him?

In a moment, He used a rainbow to remind me that through the centuries, He has held true to His promise to never again destroy the entire earth with a flood (Genesis 9:12-17). And through that, He showed me that all of His promises will hold true…He remembers.

For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us. (1 Corinthians 1:20).

His promises, all of His promises, are yes – they are amen. They will be completed, and they will be fulfilled. But why not now? Why does God tarry? Why does He allow evil deeds to be done and be celebrated and go unpunished? Why doesn’t He answer His promises now? Why didn’t He answer them long ago? Why hasn’t He made the wrong things right?

Dear friends, God waits and is patient because He is love…and He is merciful. Yes, God’s righteous and perfect judgment will one day be fully executed, and sin and evil will be abolished and punished and banished forever from His glorious Presence. In that day, those who have surrendered* to Him and to His ways will live in His glory and freedom and experience the fullness and completion of every promise He has made. But for now, God waits, and we wait with Him, albeit with groaning in our souls (Romans 8:22-23)…

The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is long-suffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. (2 Peter 3:9).

Our loving and perfectly-wise God, waits to fulfill His promises because He longs for all to come to repentance. He longs that none would perish apart from Him, and we, as the church…as His bride, wait with Him. But we know the end! We know that He promises to make all wrong right and to bring about the fullness of justice! And we know the perfect hope that we have in Christ! Isn’t knowing this enough to propel us through the hard and impossible seasons and experiences? If God is long-suffering towards this world in the hopes that more will be saved, is it too much to ask that we would also look ahead to the fulfillment of His promises and wait patiently for that day?

Yes, this world is utterly hopeless and it is spiraling towards it’s own self-destruction. But those who know Christ and His glorious gift of salvation have a most precious treasure – hope. What can be done to me or to my family to steal that hope? It is secure because it is bought by the precious blood of Jesus. There is nothing on earth that can separate me from Him. Not hardships, not disaster, not even death can keep me from Him or can prevent His promises from being fulfilled (Romans 8:35-39). I truly have nothing to fear.

Do the worry and concern and doubts still arise in my mind? Yes. Daily. But the Lord has given me a weapon against them – His Word. In it, I am reminded of His promises and assured of His faithfulness. Because of this, I can have peace in my soul. The world may rage and chaos may ensue, but deep within, in the secret place, my heart can be at peace in the hope I have found in Jesus Christ. He always remembers, and He always fulfills His promises.

May this word to our hearts spur us on as the salt and light of the earth to provide a glimmer of hope to those who have none. What is more appealing and awe-invoking than a person completely at peace in a storm? Jesus Himself exhibited this kind of peace before His disciples in the midst of a dangerous tempest at sea (Mark 4:35-41). As His hands and feet here, we are to be this calming beacon – lighting the way through the confusion and hurt and depravity. We are to shine the hope of Jesus and the salvation that He brings to this world.

And then, though our lives be taken…once His promises are fulfilled, haven’t we won? What then is there to fear? Jesus will have His way!

His promises

*If you feel that you do not have this hope that I speak of, that you don’t know what this life is all about or what you were created for, or if you simply want to dialogue more about it, please send me a comment or an email (see the contact page on the main menu). I’d love to chat with you!

Grace and peace!

– Alex ✌️

Also, just a heads up – if you never want to miss a blog post, you can subscribe here to get email updates whenever something new is published! Have a happy day! ♥

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

9 thoughts on “His promises

  1. It is so hard raising kids in this world that seems so uncertain and scary. However, I’m sure every generation feels that way. Having faith and raising good kids are so important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

