a loyal heart

Hey there, Lovelies! How has your week been?

Personally, I am feeling so encouraged because I am reminded of the Lord’s crazy deep desire for intimacy and friendship with me (and each of us!) He’s speaking. I want to be listening! So many seasons I have felt distant and disconnected from Him. That has had nothing to do with His nearness, but rather with my connectedness to His heart and His gentle whispers. I want a heart that is in-tune and listening to Him – undistracted by the cares of the world!

For quite some time now, I have tried to make it a daily habit to spend time in the Word each day. Certain seasons I am better at this practice than others.* However, when I make it a priority to spend this time with the Lord, He never fails to show me fresh and new insights that I had not seen before! I love it when He opens my eyes to new truths in the Bible! During these last two weeks, He has been speaking to me about the condition of my heart… specifically the loyalty of my heart towards Him.

a loyal heart

Consider this phrase: Loyal Heart

For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him… (2 Chronicles 16:9a)

Wow! The depth that two words can contain… The Lord has been speaking this theme to me throughout my quiet time with Him these last two weeks. It is a phrase that keeps on reappearing, and I feel that my heart and mind have just scratched the surface of what it means to have a loyal heart before God.

…know the God of your father, and serve Him with a loyal heart and with a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts and understands all the intent of the thoughts. If you seek Him, He will be found by you; but if you forsake Him, He will cast you off forever. (1 Chronicles 28:9b)

Again and again, I keep reading passages that highlight how much value the Lord puts on a heart that is LOYAL to Him. And it makes me wonder: Is my heart fully devoted to Him? Does He find me to be loyal? Am I serving Him with the willingness He speaks of in these verses?

Yesterday I read this passage and was instantly sobered:

And he did what was right in the sight of the Lord, but not with a loyal heart. (2 Chronicles 25:2)

The Lord truly “searches all hearts and understands all the intent of the thoughts…” and He knows the true state of my heart. I can be doing all of the “right” things, but He knows whether or not I do those things because of my loyalty to Him or because of another motive.

Dear sisters, let me be honest with you, there are many times when I appear to be obeying the Lord but it is with wrong intentions. I grew up in church. I know right versus wrong. And I’m also a people-pleaser. I have to admit that sometimes I have done “what was right in the sight of the Lord…” in order to impress people or to stay out of trouble. I may be able to fool other people about these ulterior motives, but God sees my heart. Is this passage true of me at times? Do I do the right thing but “…not with a loyal heart”?

a loyal heart

I looked up the word “loyal” to better grasp what it looks like. Here are some synonyms that I found:

  • allegiant
  • faithful
  • true
  • devoted
  • constant
  • steadfast
  • dependable
  • reliable
  • dedicated
  • unwavering
  • unswerving

I certainly can’t do or be these things on my own, but I CAN ask the Lord for the grace to have a loyal heart and to walk through life in loyal devotion to Him. By the power of the Holy Spirit within me, I CAN do and be these things!

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. (Deuteronomy 6:4-9)

May all that I do… may all that WE do… be with loyal hearts fully and completely in love with our God and our Savior. May our lives be consumed with Him and His kingdom. And from today onward, may we be ALL IN for all of eternity.

Grace and peace!

– Alex ✌️

*I’ve written a few other posts about having a daily quiet time on this blog that you may find encouraging if, like me, you find this to be a challenging discipline! You can check them out here: “this one thing,” “new mercy,” and “refreshing and refilling.”

Also, just a heads up – if you never want to miss a blog post, you can subscribe here to get email updates whenever something new is published! Have a happy day! ♥

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

3 thoughts on “a loyal heart

Leave a Reply

