one nation – under God

Today is election day and up until now, I have avoided any and all political discussions online. Certainly I have discussed my personal views with close family and friends, but I generally prefer to stay out of the boxing ring on this subject! However, since this post is going up so late today, I feel that perhaps it will not be taken out of context. I certainly do not want to instruct people on how to cast their votes, I only desire to share a few thoughts I have in addition to two resources that have greatly encouraged my heart in light of the great uncertainty and even fear that accompanies any outcome from this election…

one nation - under God

As believers, we have a higher hope and a certain future that is unmarred by any circumstance on this earth. Our hope is in Jesus Christ as Lord and King. He is coming again to rule and to reign and to make all of the wrong things right. Nothing done or not done on this earth can shake that reality. This is the source of our peace in light of the confusion and chaos in this world. (Read more about that peace here!) Yet, I am strongly convicted by this familiar verse in 2 Chronicles:

…if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:14)

Those of us who follow Christ would without a doubt say that our hearts long for revival in our nation. Our hearts break and mourn every time our nation takes another step away from the commandments of the Lord. This is a wonderful verse to cling to and pray back to the Lord! But although I have read this verse countless times before, it was not until I heard a teaching on it that I realized it states: “…if MY PEOPLE, who are called by My name…” I never recognized that the condition in this verse is for the people of God to humble themselves, pray, seek His face, and turn from their wicked ways. I always just assumed that our entire nation would have to do these things. Yet the verse actually assigns that responsibility to the people of God – you and me. Wow!

This week, my prayers are strong for our country. I pray that the person who assumes the highest position in the land would be someone who fights for righteousness and justice. I pray that God’s commands would be respected and obeyed. I pray that the entire nation would turn to God. But perhaps my most ardent prayer is that MY heart would be humble, uncompromising, steady, faithful, obedient, and repentant. I pray that 2 Chronicles 7:14 would describe MY life. What if every follower of Jesus applied this command to themselves? What then would our nation look like?

So let’s be faithful. Let’s vote today according to righteousness and justice and according to the Holy Spirit’s leading. But above all else, let’s make our hearts right before a holy God in heaven. Let’s say “no” to compromise and complacency in our own walks with the Lord and in our own lives. Who knows if the Lord will do a new and wonderful thing in our nation?

“Now, therefore,” says the Lord“Turn to Me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning.” So rend your heart, and not your garments; return to the Lord your God, for He is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness; and He relents from doing harm. Who knows if He will turn and relent, and leave a blessing behind Him – a grain offering and a drink offering for the Lord your God? Blow the trumpet in Zion, consecrate a fast, call a sacred assembly; gather the people, sanctify the congregation, assemble the elders, gather the children and nursing babes; let the bridegroom go out from his chamber, and the bride from her dressing room. Let the priests, who minister to the Lord, weep between the porch and the altar; let them say, “Spare Your people, O Lord, and do not give Your heritage to reproach, that the nations should rule over them. Why should they say among the peoples, ‘Where is their God?’” (Joel 2:12-17)

If any of this resonates with you, I would strongly encourage you to listen to these two sermons. Through them, I have been filled with a greater understanding of the Lord’s desire for His church to be pure and without blemish in Christ and also a greater understanding of the hope that I should have in the Lord and His plans. No matter who will be our next national leader, God is still Lord! Let’s join ourselves with Him, as His holy people, by living in humility and repentance towards Him as we pray for our nation and its future.

Message by Mike Bickle on Oct 23rd

Message by Allen Hood on March 6th

May each of you be filled with much grace and peace tonight! ♥

– Alex ✌️

Also, just a heads up – if you never want to miss a blog post, you can subscribe here to get email updates whenever something new is published! Have a happy day! ♥

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 thoughts on “one nation – under God

  1. While I am not a super religious person, I can appreciate what you are saying, and took the time to read and hear what you were saying. I hope that everyone, no matter their religion or who they chose, is able to take on this new chapter in our history, by approaching it with love and patience. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment means more than I can say! Right now we need to all choose the higher path of love, humility, and forgiveness to be able to move on. I feel that maintaining and open mind and arms towards others are key! Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

