how social media has made me better

Hi Friends!

Yes, you read that correctly. This post is about the ways that social media (and blogging) HAVE made me better.

how social media has made me better

I know that we are constantly reminding ourselves (and being reminded by others) of the negative effects that an online presence can have on our well-being. And I would agree. But the key word in that last sentence is “can.” You guessed it: each of us have choices to make every time we pull out our phones or log onto our computers. Of course, I will be the first to admit that many times, my real-life and my internet-life are not properly balanced.

What should this look like?

I believe that it looks like being totally PRESENT in the moment.

I believe that it looks like being CONTENT with my life.

I believe that it looks like being an ENCOURAGING and UPLIFTING voice to the world.

And I believe that it looks like being TRUTHFUL.

Lately, I have taken certain days off from posting anything online, and on those days, I have only minimally perused the accounts that I follow. These have been some of the most relaxing and enjoyable days that I have had in a while because I wasn’t worried about “views,” “likes,” “follows,” etc.

how social media has made me better

During those days, the things that I cared about and focused on were from my real life. I believe that this balance should be attainable even on the days that I am using my online accounts, and hopefully, I am growing and improving in this. (And for good measure, I plan to continue to take many more breaks from social media in the future.)

But again, I would say that in several ways, social media HAS BEEN GOOD in my life. Let me explain…

  • Connected me with others: It has allowed me to stay in touch with people that I otherwise might not often communicate with.
  • Formed new friendships: I have been able to meet many other encouraging ladies who have poured into me – even though we have never met in person! (I love it when I am up in the middle of the night with my newborn and I can message another mommy who is in the same boat but in another country!)
  • Improved my writing: It truly has honed my communication skills. Yes, I have much more to learn, but I have immensely enjoyed the challenge of starting a blog and continuing to add content to it on a weekly basis.
  • Given me a hobby: Honestly, it is a ton of fun for me to write these posts!
  • Provided encouragement: People (myself included) can be so encouraged by reading uplifting content. I know some individuals who use their social media accounts to affect so much good! And I have seen others that do not. I am striving to fall into the first category!
  • Honed my photography skills: I take so many more photos, and since I’m not content with mediocre pictures, I end up with decent ones. (Although this is an area where I still have much room for improvement!)
  • Helped me to process my thoughts: Until I started this blog, I had no idea that I processed information so well by writing. I have been able to internalize so many thoughts and truths by writing about them here.
  • Taught me balance and priorities: Because social media has the propensity to cultivate things like comparison, jealousy, negativity, preoccupation, pride, etc. If I am to continue using it, then I have to learn to say “no” to these attitudes and “yes” to contentment, positivity, focus, humility, balance, and correct priorities. I have had many opportunities to practice these skills.
  • Challenged me to be better: When I see things that other people are doing online, sometimes it challenges me to be better – to work out, to make healthy food choices, to take my kids outside, to start a DIY project, to redecorate my house, to try a new recipe, etc.

Please understand that I struggle from the same temptations associated with social media that every one does. But I am hoping that we can all find a healthy balance because good CAN come from using it appropriately!

What would you add to my list above?

Now please excuse me while I go snuggle my kiddos. Gotta keep my priorities in order!

how social media has made me better

9 thoughts on “how social media has made me better

  1. I totally agree with your points, especially the friendships one! It is so nice to connect with other women with similar interests who I wouldn’t have met otherwise!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you have been able to find balance…I’m having a harder time 🙂 But I agree I have made some really great new friends through blogging and social media!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is exactly what I thought when I was writing it! I could add my own woes to the negative list – and I DO still have to step back from it at times, but it’s not all bad. I thought that focusing on the good would be a nice change! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

