a letter to my mom

Friends,

My mom is such an integral part of my life. I wanted to honor her on this Mother’s Day with this letter…

a letter to my mom


Dear Mom,

Every year for 24 years we have celebrated this holiday together. After all, I’m the one who made you a mother! ♥ And every year I counted my blessings of having YOU as my mom. But this year is different. This year I too am a mom of 2 littles, and now I am even more blown away by your sacrifices and love throughout the years! I wish to honor you, mom. And I DO rise up and call you blessed

Thank you for caring for me when I was a babe – unable to do anything for myself. You gave of yourself and sacrificed again and again to comfort, protect, and love me. You calmed me in the wee hours of the morning. You showered me in kisses. You were the last to bed and the first to rise when I was sick or scared. 

Thank you for teaching me as I grew. You taught me how to read. You showed me how to add and subtract. You explained fractions to me over and over again. You gave me space to play and learn in the world. You encouraged my independence and imagination but were always a safe haven to come back to. You ran with me as I learned to ride a bike and soothed countless “ouchies.” You took me everywhere with you, and we always found adventures together.

Thank you for always being my closest friend. You were the one who spoke peace to my broken heart and reminded me of my value when others hurt me. You dreamt with me and supported me – no matter how far-fetched my plans were. You encouraged and challenged me to do and be my best at all times. You never doubted me or my abilities. You sacrificed so many personal pleasures so that I could have more opportunities. 

Thank you for allowing me to fly when it was time. You didn’t hold me back but you always gently reminded me that you would be there, no matter what. You were my biggest cheerleader, and you always will be. After all, no one ever loves like a mother. You have always encouraged me and embraced the season I find myself in. You loved my husband when he became a part of my life, and as each of my children were born, your heart of love grew bigger and bigger. You are an amazing mom, mother-in-law, and grandma.

Thank you for raising me to love the Lord. From my youngest memory, you showed me what a genuine relationship with Jesus looks like. You love Him with all abandonment, and you get giddy talking about His sweet and tender love for us. You have been faithful throughout the decades – through thick and thin. I know that the foundation of your faith is a relationship, not religion. I crave this in my very soul. You taught me how to pray and how to love the Scriptures. There is nothing you could have done that would have more eternal significance than to raise me in the discipline and admonition of the Lord. I honor you, most especially, for this. 

I thank you, for being you. And for being mine. I love you, Mom.

♥ Alex


Her children rise up and call her blessed… (Proverbs 31:28a)

…bring them up in the training and admonition of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:4b)

Please, if this letter would bless your mother or another important lady in your life, I give any and all permission to copy and edit it. Let’s bless these amazing women this week!

Also, I’ve handpicked a few of my older mommy posts for you to check out as we celebrate motherhood this weekend! They are oldies but goodies!

Just a heads up – if you never want to miss a blog post, you can subscribe below to get email updates whenever something new is published! Have a happy day! ♥

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

