My Letter to a Stranger – Please give this Mom a Little More Grace

Dear Stranger,

Please, give me a little more grace.

I see you watching me. Certainly my attention is focused on these two children of mine, but still, I know you are watching.

What are you thinking? Well, it all depends, but I’m writing you this letter so that you might arrive at this conclusion – to give me a little more grace.

My letter to a stranger: Please give me grace when my roles as a mother and parent are coming apart at the seams. Parenting is hard some days...

You see, I put a lot of thought into leaving the house today. I attempted to schedule this necessary outing around naps and fussy moods. I debated whether my errands were even necessary, or whether they could be put off for yet another day.

Before I left home, I put on real clothes. I attempted to apply makeup to cover the dark circles under my eyes and the persistent breakouts. I even dressed my kids in trendy outfits. I might have forgotten deodorant, but no matter, I don’t plan on invading your personal space. I did all of this; so that I don’t stick out in a crowd.

Perhaps I am shallow and fake because of my facade, but honestly, I’m just trying to blend in – like the chameleon at our local zoo. (I prefer instead to let my walls down around my family and closest friends.) So, please, give me a little more grace.

Honestly, the crown jewel of running errands is to be unnoticed by any and all. But to those of you who are watching and to those of you who do notice, please know this… I’m trying. Truly I am.

So if I look like I’m struggling or out of patience or tired or frustrated or barely holding tears back – it’s because I am. If I had it my way, you wouldn’t notice those things, and I’d greet you with a genuine smile and happily report that “I’m good and everything is great!”

So please, give me a little more grace, and I’ll love you for it.

When you see me struggling to get through a door with my stroller, please help me (even if I say that I don’t need help.)

When my kids are screaming in a store, please smile at me with understanding. 

When I am changing a blowout diaper in the trunk of my car, please don’t judge me. 

When I have to nurse my baby in public, please allow me privacy. 

When my smile falters after you tell me that my hands are full, please remind me that I’m doing a good job.

When you think you know better than I do, please consider that I am trying my very best and however well-meaning your words may be, they are hard to hear from a stranger.

Would you, please give me a little more grace?

I adore my kids and most days their little inconveniences don’t get me down, but other days are really hard. Sometimes it feels like running a three-ring circus – with me as the clown… Please, please, give me a little more grace on those days.

I hope that we can all remember the power of judgments, looks, and words. I’ll try not to judge your glances and body language, but could you try to not judge me for my imperfections that I’m trying to hide behind my sunglasses?

Could you give me a little more grace? We are all in this together. It takes a village, and, whether you know it or not, you happen to be in mine. ♥

Sincerely,

THAT mom.

My letter to a stranger: Please give me grace when my roles as a mother and parent are coming apart at the seams. Parenting is hard some days...

 

This blog is dedicated to things I love, motherhood and family life, and Jesus. Welcome to Heart, Home and Hope!

letter stranger mom motherhood challenges grace honesty kids children judgment

SaveSave

14 thoughts on “My Letter to a Stranger – Please give this Mom a Little More Grace

  1. I love this post. And can totally relate. A little help to get through the day is always SO much appreciated. Thanks for sharing mama! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many truths in this article that I can relate to. I have been that mom changing a diaper in the back of the car, the mom barely holding it together. We definitely need to support one another.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sweet girl, this actually brought tears to my eyes. Motherhood is such a God ordained-high calling- and the thought of moms feeling alone and looking for understanding and encouragement really opens my eyes to go out of my way to give moms I meet through the day more smiles,small and large jesters of help,along with encouraging words. Thank you for sharing your heart. No matter what phase of life we are in-God wants us to show His grace, love, and understanding to all. He loves unconditionally and calls us to do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

