The Storm That Taught Me About God’s Compassion

I live in Florida – a state particularly know for it’s summer thunderstorms. And while I welcome a cozy day inside during an afternoon storm, I am always much less excited about the nighttime storms. You see, my daughter just turned two, and like most toddlers, she finds the “ma-ma” (thunder) to be very intimidating

Last night was one of those nights – flashes of bright lightening, clashes of thunder, and rain blowing sideways in the wind. I was wakened by the power of the storm, and as I lay there in the dark, I listened for the baby monitor. I wondered how long it would take for the storm to wake my little lady up.

Sure enough, a half-hour into the bad weather, I heard her calling for me. I jumped out of bed to get her and then brought her back to my room. As we snuggled together next to my sleeping husband, she quieted and relaxed – knowing that she was safe and not alone. After another hour, the weather calmed down, and as she dozed, I was able to transfer her back into her crib.

Now let me be clear, I have countless moments of mom-fails. Yet, last night was not one of those times. I never once felt frustration or annoyance about her waking and needing comfort from the storm. My heart was stirred with compassion. You see, I remember to this day being terrified of thunderstorms and needing my parents to sit with me. I know how it feels to be alone in the dark and afraid of the weather. I remember, and my heart is moved to love and comfort her.

Learning lessons about God's compassion and love

This morning, as I wearily recalled the events of last night, the Lord taught me the sweetest lesson…

So then, since we have a great High Priest who has entered heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to what we believe. This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most. (Hebrews 4:14-16, NLT)

Friends, this is OUR Jesus! He never feels frustration or annoyance. His heart is stirred with compassion. He remembers what it is like to live on this earth. He know how it feels. He remembers, and His heart is moved to love and comfort us too.

When you are alone, afraid, and living in darkness, call on the name of Jesus*. He wants to deliver each of us from the fears and bondage in this world. He faced every trial that we will, but He was victorious and overcame those tests! He wants to help us do the same. He sees us with eyes of mercy and compassion and never-ending love.

We can  now”…come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” In Jesus, we are safe and never alone. 

Does this resonate with your heart like it does with mine? God is a good Father and I can see it so much more clearly now that I have my own children! He is constantly amazing me with His love! How has He recently revealed Himself to you in your life? I’d love to hear about it below!

Grace and peace!

– Alex ✌️

This blog is dedicated to things I love, motherhood and family life, and Jesus. Welcome to Heart, Home and Hope!

Cloudy Florida sky

Leave a Reply

