Family Photography – Preparing For Your Session

Well, August is wrapping up – and quickly, I might add. I must admit, we are about to enter into my favorite time of the year – the fall. Along with fall comes the anticipation of cooler weather, cozy fires, warm drinks, and holiday traditions. (Don’t worry, I’m not wishing for Christmas just yet… but I do love the anticipation that begins to build during this season!)

This is also the time of year that many families begin to schedule family photo sessions! I am so excited because I just happened to stumble upon a lovely gal near us who is doing mini sessions this weekend! I was fortunate enough to snag a slot with her; so I’ve been spending my time brainstorming outfits, accessories, and shot ideas!

As I’ve been preparing for our upcoming shoot, I wanted to share some ideas for our shoot and some photos from previous sessions too! Please feel free to comment below if you have any suggestions or tips/tricks up your sleeves! I’m thankful that I love candid shots because I’m not too sure how my 2 year old and 8 month old are going to cooperate! Ha!

Tips to prepare for family photography sessions.

Family Photography Pinterest Mood Board

Because… who doesn’t love Pinterest for things like this? Scroll through to see some of my favorite “moods” and styles of family photography!

Outfit Inspiration

This year, I wanted to have unique but complimentary outfits for the four of us. Here are a few flat-lay ideas…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Between now and Sunday, I may change my mind on what Hubby and I are wearing, but I love the kids’ outfits – especially Little Man’s clothes! (I only wish he would actually keep that hat on his head!) But please, help me to decide…

  • Which of the two outfits should I wear?
  • Do you think Hubby’s shirt is too “busy”?

I’m so excited to see how these photos turn out! I’m planning on bringing a guitar, picnic blanket, and cut flowers for this session too!

Tips/Tricks From Past Photo Shoots

I am NOT an expert when it comes to having professional photos taken… but I have learned a few things to share…

  1. Know what you want. There are so many styles of photography and many more “moods” that can be conveyed. Make a Pinterest board full of things you love and styles you like.
  2. Communicate with your photographer. He/she won’t know what you are looking for unless you tell them! Remember that Pinterest board? Share it with your photographer – ahead of time! And don’t be afraid to ask whether or not they can deliver. There are many forms of photography and you want someone who’s strengths align with the styles you like.
  3. Plan and prepare. For previous family sessions, I brought lots of props and accessories to create the type of shoot I was looking for. Last year, I made Hubby drag around a wagon filled with a pumpkin, apples, baskets, stuffed animals, flowers, and blankets in order to create the picnic vibe I was going for!
  4. Keep the kids happy. I know this isn’t always possible, but at least try to cover your bases – have snacks available, let them bring their favorite lovey, avoid scheduling your session during nap time, etc.
  5. Have reasonable expectations. The surest way to have a meltdown during a photo session is to expect too much from your baby or toddler. Let them be them, and you’ll end up with adorable and memorable photos. (Last fall, my daughter took a bite out of every apple in the picnic basket. We laughed at her, and she thought it was the best thing ever. Those are some of my favorite shots from that session!)
  6. Laugh. This goes with tip #5, but don’t stress about things and stay relaxed. Laugh a lot – it’ll be that much more fun and you’ll avoid the dreaded “fake” smiles!
  7. Ask your photographer to suggest things. They have seen and done it all, and they should be more than happy to lend advice and experience to you!

Here are some of my favorite professional shots from last year!

September 2016 Photography Session

 

 

 

 

 

December 2016 Photography Session

 

 

 

 

 

PS – I’m sure you’ve noticed by now (especially if you follow me on Instagram,) but I don’t show my kid’s full faces to protect their identity as much as possible in this day and age. I wish I could though! They are really, really cute! ♥

When do you do annual family photos? Do you have any advice to share?

Grace and peace!

– Alex ✌️

This blog is dedicated to things I love, motherhood and family life, and Jesus. Welcome to Heart, Home and Hope!

SaveSave

One thought on “Family Photography – Preparing For Your Session

Leave a Reply

